Professional Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Professional Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The Certified Information Systems Auditor® (CISA®) is a certification issued by ISACA. The CISA designation is a globally recognized certification for IS audit control, assurance and security professionals. Being CISA-certified showcases your audit experience, skills and knowledge, and demonstrates you are capable to manage vulnerabilities, ensure compliance and institute controls within the enterprise. The certification also assists employers in hiring auditors who are skilled in measuring and assessing IT controls by affirming that a candidate possesses a baseline set of auditing skills. With more than 140,000 members in more than 180 countries, ISACA (www.isaca.org) is a recognized global leader in IT governance, IT audit, IT risk and information security. ISACA develops globally applicable information systems auditing and control standards and administers the internationally respected certification designations. For more information on the CISA certification, please go to www.isaca.org/CISA.

 What you will learn?

The official ISACA exam preparation course materials are based on the CISA® job practice as defined by ISACA. A job practice serves as the basis for the exam and the experience requirements to earn the certification. This job practice consists of task and knowledge statements, organized by domains. The latest job practice analysis performed by ISACA reflects the vital and evolving responsibilities of IT Auditors.


Module 1: Information System Auditing Process

Part A: Planning

  • IS Audit Standards, Guidelines, and Codes of Ethics
  • Business Processes
  • Types of Controls
  • Risk-based Audit Planning
  • Types of Audits and Assessments

Part B: Execution

  • Audit Project Management
  • Sampling Methodology
  • Audit Evidence Collection Techniques
  • Data Analytics
  • Reporting and Communication Techniques
  • Quality Assurance and Improvement of the Audit Process

Module 2: Governance and Management of IT

Part A: IT Governance

  • IT Governance and IT Strategy
  • IT-related Frameworks
  • IT Standards, Policies and Procedures
  • Organizational Structure
  • Enterprise Architecture
  • Enterprise Risk Management
  • Maturity Models
  • Laws, Regulations and Industry Standards Affecting the Organization

Part B: IT Management

  • IT Resource Management
  • IT Service Provider Acquisition and Management
  • IT Performance Monitoring and Reporting
  • Quality Assurance and Quality Management of IT

Module 3: Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation

Part A: Information Systems Acquisition and Development

  • Project Governance and Management
  • Business Case and Feasibility Analysis
  • System Development Methodologies
  • Control Identification and Design

Part B: Information Systems Implementation

  • Testing Methodologies
  • Configuration and Release Management
  • System Migration, Infrastructure Deployment and Data Conversion
  • Post-implementation Review

Module 4: Information Systems Operations and Business Resilience

Part A: Information Systems Operations

  • Common Technology Components
  • IT Asset Management
  • Job Scheduling and Production Process Automation
  • System Interfaces
  • End-user Computing
  • Data Governance
  • Systems Performance Management
  • Problem and Incident Management
  • Change, Configuration, Release and Patch Management
  • IT Service Level Management
  • Database Management

Part B: Business Resilience

  • Business Impact Analysis
  • System Resiliency
  • Data Backup, Storage and Restoration
  • Business Continuity Plan
  • Disaster Recovery Plans

Module 5: Protection of Information Assets

Part A: Information Asset Security and Control

  • Information Asset Security Frameworks, Standards and Guidelines
  • Privacy Principles
  • Physical Access and Environmental Controls
  • Identity and Access Management
  • Network and End-point Security
  • Data Classification
  • Data Encryption and Encryption-related Techniques
  • Public Key Infrastructure
  • Web-based Communication Technologies
  • Virtualized Environments
  • Mobile, Wireless and Internet-of-things Devices

Part B: Security Event Management

  • Security Awareness Training and Programs
  • Information System Attack Methods and Techniques
  • Security Testing Tools and Techniques
  • Security Monitoring Tools and Techniques
  • Incident Response Management
  • Evidence Collection and Forensics